A 50’s Style Affair

Dawn N Brian

You might ask yourself what a wedding post is doing on what is primarily a home improvement blog? Well…That IS a good question. I suppose the answer lies in the fact that this home that I love so much has kind of helped define the rest of my life in many ways.

I have always felt like an old soul in a modern world. Living here ensconced in my paneled walls surrounded by my pinkness and vintage things I now have an excuse to walk between the two worlds. Past and present.

So it was a very natural progression when Brian and I started planning our wedding that we veered to a vintage style. We started off discussing craft beer, because that’s how we met. But as we went along the planning process things changed and realigned.

This was a second wedding for us both. We wanted small and intimate. We wanted to be surrounded by drama free people who truly have supported us and our unique relationship. Brian and I are very non traditional. From how we met, to the fact that I proposed to HIM at the foot of the Rocky statue in Philadelphia. NOTHING we do is traditional. Additionally, even though we now had the money to plan a fairly nice to do, as we started looking at venues, talking to bands and photographers, etc, we found we were much less prepared to part with our hard-earned money. So having something here at home started making a lot of sense to us.

I had been following www.theoffbeatbride.com for quite some time. One day they posted this story: http://offbeatbride.com/2012/05/seattle-1940s-wedding

That was it. That was the wedding I wanted. Just a decade later.

I didn’t need or want a fancy affair. This was a second wedding for us. We had lived together already for 4 years! We had obtained a pretty quiet, laid back, drama free life over the years and we wanted our wedding to reflect that. An elopement of sorts was JUST the answer for us. So the idea formed of a small courthouse wedding followed several weeks later by a casual back yard BBQ here at our home for our friends and family.

I wanted to post about this primarily to give the shout outs to the venders I used because when it was all said and done I do not think we would have changed a thing. Our wedding and reception ended up being a perfect reflection of “Us”. And I could not have done it without the many wonderful resources on the web and locally. So this post is a celebration of our wedding and a Thank You to all that helped us get there.

We were married in July at the Franklin County Courthouse in Columbus Ohio.

Standing in line for our license.

Standing in line for our license.

We were surrounded by my mother and stepfather, my niece and her fiance. Our photographer backed out at the last minute and my niece and her fiance stepped in to take some pics for us. They did a phenomenal job and I really couldn’t be happier with how everything worked out.

IMG_3800 - Copy

I took this picture the morning of. I got this idea from http://www.pinterest.com. THANK GOD for pinterest! My wedding idea board was a lifesaver. I am so glad I got this pic.

Brian’s ring we got online from www.metalmasters.com. We found them through http://www.amazon.com. He works in a home improvement store and needed something sturdy. This is his second tungsten ring. WE LOVE THEM and he gets a ton of compliments on it.

My engagement ring came from http://www.dunkinsdiamonds.com in Lancaster Ohio. I wanted something NON traditional. Finding a band to fit was more challenging but eventually, Amazon came through again and I found this delightful little band: http://www.amazon.com/White-Gold-Blue-Sapphire-Ring/dp/B00126FH8G/ref=cm_cr-mr-title. We spent very little money on our rings because that was not an important thing for us.

IMG_3962

This picture inspired my look I was going for:

1916395_f520[1]

I am a plus size gal and Marilyn is the epitome of curvacious beauty.

IMG_3825

Well, I am no Marilyn, but it will have to do. Did I mention it happened to be a very HOT and HUMID day?? Which means the second I stepped outside I lost my lovely pin curls. Oh well. No need to stress, right???

Dry run

My shoes also came from Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Funtasma-Pleaser-Womens-Contessa-06-Black-White/dp/B0018N7LE6/ref=sr_1_5?s=shoes&ie=UTF8&qid=1358101364&sr=1-5&keywords=funtasma+by+pleaser+contessa. I loved them.

IMG_3847

Okay. Complete listing of clothing. My dress and hair piece came from http://www.uniquevintage.com. Brian’s shirts were from http://www.daddyos.com and http://www.lucky13apparel.com. My mom’s custom shirt came from http://www.customizedbowlingshirts.com. I got my crinoline on http://www.amazon.com.

DSC_0016

DSC_0032

See. NO MORE CURLS. Dang it!!! Stupid Mother Nature!

After the courthouse ceremony we went to a nearby park for some photos. Then we headed to Tommy’s Diner, a Columbus institution for some lunch!

DSC_0075

IMG_3895

DSC_0093

DSC_0127

DSC_0158

We custom designed our invites using http://www.zazzle.com. I LOVE THEM. We used them for custom stamps as well as address labels. Excellent customer service!

I made up the poem!

I made up the poem!

Capture

So a about 5 weeks after our ceremony, we had our backyard BBQ. I had a very cute bowling dress picked out for this day but the day was SOOOOOO hot and humid and we were under the threat of rain, that I ditched it at the last-minute and went with capris and an apron. Going with the flow!

IMG_4621

IMG_4666

Me and Brian the day of our party.

IMG_4668

Me and my beautiful niece!

Everything else was rather casual. We had a large two car detached garage that we weren’t using. It wasn’t pretty but it served well due to the pending rain. (It never did rain, but we were prepared none the less!) I did my best to spruce it up. We offered sidewalk chalk to our guests to sign the walls.

Food was catered by a local eatery called City BBQ. http://www.citybbq.com/. We love supporting local business!

IMG_4674

This was the kids table:

IMG_4675

The dessert table:

IMG_4625

IMG_4655

Used vintage map hearts from http://www.etsy.com (Because when we met we had a long distance relationship). Tables and walls were filled with black and white pictures from our 5 years together. I also used vintage buttons and of course mason jars!

IMG_4636

We rented the table and chairs. Best decision we made!!!!

IMG_4635

IMG_4648

IMG_4652

And the favors. Glasses ordered from http://www.favorfavor.com and were filled with retro style candy.

The signing of the walls:

IMG_4629

IMG_4734

IMG_4740

Well, all in all, we are pretty pleased with how it all went down. We have been married for 6 months now and really couldn’t be happier. If you have any questions about the vendors I used please drop me a line.

Thank you so much for stopping by and may you go out and have your own off beat life!

DSC_0173

**ALL PHOTOS COURTESY OF: Jared Bowling, Whitley Hanna and Dawn Bininger. 2012. Do not use without permission. Thank you.

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 50’s Style Affair

  1. Love what you did for your wedding! The 50’s theme is great! We had similar feelings about not wanting to spend a lot on our wedding. We actually got married in our backyard with some friends. And…my wedding dress was red too!! 🙂
    Kenley

    • drbininger says:

      Thank you! It was not exactly what I set out for, but in the end, it was exactly how it was meant to be I think. Only thing I would change and cant would have been the weather. Wish my hair would have looked better. LOL!

Leave a Reply

