Ready for some Euchre and beer?

One of my most favorite features of my house is my carport. We are the only house in our neighborhood with an attached carport. Everyone else got a garage.

I know. I know. Many of you are saying to yourself “I would prefer a garage!” But for me, I am so happy with the carport I do not miss the garage at all. Plus, to be honest, I have rarely had a garage in my life so it’s hard to miss what you have never really had.

I adore my carport. Really.

And should we get all technical and all, we do have TWO garages. A detached 2 1/2 car garage behind our house and an attached one car garage directly underneath the carport. True. We don’t have a driveway for either, but heck, that’s an easy fix!

So year one in our house has taught us one important thing… We spend a great deal of time outside and in our carport. You can see by the picture that it has a great 2 feet overhang around it which provides great shade. It’s also situated so that we almost constantly have a breeze. Park a car in this thing? Oh hell no!

May I also take this moment to remind you that we do NOT have Central air. So this carport came in handy last year. We ate out here. Did crafts out here. Played cards out here. And basically just chilled out here.

However, over the winter it started looking like an episode of Sanford and Sons. Really. It definitely became a catch all.

Ummm. YUCK. So spring has sprung and that means time to get this place whipped into shape. We started with the floor. It had some wear and tear and some oil stains from previous resident.

We chose a Rust-Oleum product again. A product I had used in a previous home. I just like their stuff what can I say?

I chose the blue grey color because my house is pink and pink and grey always work well together. Plus, the paint chips gave the finished floor a VCT/ Linoleum floor feel to it.

If you follow the instructions, this stuff is fairly easy to apply. But please. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. It does help to have two people though, because if you have never worked with Epoxy, then you might want to know it starts to dry quickly. So I did the rolling and Brian came behind me with the paint chips. You have to work in sections as well.

This was a two-day process for us. The first night we prepped the carport. Swept, applied the concrete etcher (Included in kit) and rinsed the floor. This took about an hour.

The next day we applied the epoxy and the chips. This probably took a total of 3 hours. This is an excellent, inexpensive way to update your garage/workshop/porch floor. Our kit cost $107 at our local Home Depot. We did it in the evening, as the instructions said afternoon is better. Allowed it to dry overnight and it was ready for LIGHT traffic the next day. We let it cure about a full 48 hours before we did anything more than tip toe over it though. Just to be safe.

We had plenty of product and even had some left over to do our front porch as well.

We then splurged on an outdoor rug, a new table we bought at the end of the season last year for FIFTEEN dollars, again, from the Home Depot, and 7 new chairs from Big Lots, and a $69 work bench from HD. And VOILA!!! We are now ready to host some outdoor dinners and some Euchre parties! (Yeah, it’s a Midwest thing!).

While it’s not Mid Century at all, it does look nice and fits the house well I think. Some day I will have all vintage outdoor WHITE wrought Iron furniture to match the posts on the carport, but until that magical day arrives this will do just fine. (Don’t think I am not scouring craigslist weekly for those bad boys)

The before and afters:

Oil and dirt and gross stuff OH MY!!!

ALL GONE!!! Yayness!!!

That splotchiness is my doing…I did not mix the first batch so well…But I knew the rug would cover it so I was not too concerned.

Once more before:

And now……………………………………

I will paint the work bench eventually. Just not sure what color yet. It will be my planting station AND double as my buffet when I have cook outs.

This entire project cost just about $400 dollars. Not bad for what has essentially become a three season room for us. We are on the hunt for an outdoor heater. And don’t think I haven’t already thought about an outdoor t.v. But I fear I would never go inside if I had one of those.

Thank you Rust-Oleum for yet another fabulous product!!!

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in 1959, Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

