It’s beginning to look a lot like…1959!

Or a modern version of a retro Christmas.

So it’s been awhile since I posted. It’s not that I have been too busy. It’s that I haven’t been busy at all!

We have been here 7 months now and if I had my way the entire house would be done. And with each reno would be a lovely blog with pictures for you to enjoy. Unfortunately for me my wallet is NOT bottomless so I have only done what I have done so far. I remind myself frequently that I will be here for years, and years are what I will have to finish up my renovations. God willing of course!

So this will be our first Christmas here in our Mid Century home. We are very excited. I knew immediately when we moved in that I would buy an Aluminum Christmas tree. I have always liked them anyway, and well, now I have the perfect house for them.

If you or your great Aunt Ida have one of these things lying around, you MIGHT want to consider selling it. These things have become HIGHLY collectible and can go as high as $500 dollars on Ebay or at antique malls.

I lucked out. I got mine over the summer. From Ebay, for about $50 with shipping. As with all Ebay purchases, I had no idea what I had.

Turns out even without instructions, it was a decent purchase. It’s old. Some of the aluminum had come off, but hey, it works for me. Eventually I will get a nicer one, but for now it will do!

At the same time I bought the tree I bought an assortment of 1950’s Christmas Greeting cards. I decided to use them to make some ornaments for the tree.

I don’t have a color wheel yet, maybe next year, but for now I have a red can light on the ground up lighting it. I don’t know. ALl and all I like the look. I think all the sliver and red really helps to blend the newer pieces of our home with some of the older pieces.

I also purchased a German glass antique tree topper over the Summer. Unfortunately, it was ugly. I was duped! Someone had tried to “Fix” it by painting it with what appeared to be nail polish. Goodbye $15 bucks. You win some you lose some.

I was able to find this LOVELY red glass topper today at Kroger though, and it was on sale for $5.99! YAY! I think it’s lovely and looks quite retro!

And because my partner is Jewish, it’s only right that I represent his religion as well…Ignore the missing candles please…They are on my grocery list!

And we can NOT forget my beloved pink bathroom. It remains my favorite room in this house. But I felt obligated to get her, her very own PINK aluminum Christmas tree.

So we are ready for our FIRST Mid Century Christmas! THank you so much for stopping by. I hope by the first of the year to have a kitchen renovation to report on, but who knows. Kitchen is up next, then some landscaping and house painting in the Spring.

Enjoy the rest of the pictures and I hope you and yours have a VERY happy holiday season no matter what decade you live in!

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in 1959, Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s beginning to look a lot like…1959!

  1. Jen says:

    The third picture from the bottom makes me want to move in!! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

