A mini renovation…This WILL be continued…

When we first walked through our house we fell in love with many many things…But one of the things that REALLY sealed the deal for us was the basement…

I’m not gonna lie…It wasnt pretty when we went through. It looked like 1960’s had thrown up in there and just walked away…Partially finished meant paneling, linoleum and a dropped ceiling that looked like it was going to drop on our heads any minute!

It was dark and it was dusty and we loved it!

We have always been people with a vision, so we easily overlooked what many could not…We werent buying the basement as is in our oppinion…We were buying its potential.

Our “Partially” finished basement is roughly 1800 additional square feet for us. It runs the entire length of the upstairs which is also almost 1800 square feet. Since 75% of the time it’s just two of us here, its seems a ridiculous amount of space…Except that it’s not.

We both love to entertain.

We both love craft beer.

We both tend to “Collect” things.

So really, I have no doubt we will someday fill this space.

It’s a walk out basement as well, which means there is the potential for it to become an income property should we choose to go that route.

I have big big plans for this basement. Unfortunately, I am a cash only operation. I don’t charge anything these days! So to do it properly is going to take some time and some savings.

But, in the meantime, I decided to do a quick little Mini Makeover…Basically, painting the paneling!

Now, normally, I would not do such an appalling thing. As you have no doubt noticed by this blog, I am trying hard to maintain the integrity of my post war ranch and I have kept the paneling that is upstairs. But down here, it’s simply too dark…And its not in the best of shape. So eventually, when I re-do the basement the correct way, it will need ripped out. I suspect some waterproofing will be needed as well.

Eventually the space you see above will be a media room and a bar/entertainment area. A craft beer lovers dream!

In addition to the space you see, I have three other usable rooms and a half bath down there (Albeit I use the term half bath loosely…I actually refer to this as the outhouse!)

Eventually I will have a fourth bedroom with walk in closets, a FULL bath with a spa tub, a kitchenette area with appliances for entertaining, and a laundry room…All in this space here:

This is all on the backside of the paneled area. There is also an additional storage room off of the paneled room. I know. I know. Soooo much space!

Anyway, while I go about saving some cash for the full-blown renovation, enjoy the before and afters of my mini reno…

The basement before (Ignore my work crew!):

The basement after:

Another before:

And more after:

And one more…Before:

After:

While Ty Pennington won’t be here anytime soon with his bullhorn and it’s nothing extreme or earth shattering…for now it suites me just fine!

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in 1959, Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A mini renovation…This WILL be continued…

  1. Kimberly MacDougall says:

    Very cool and such fabulous potential! Would love to see more of your home!

    Kim in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Leave a Reply

