From There To Here…Part ONE

Or the history of my “Little Pink House” (Part One of Two, because I am long-winded!!!)

I didn’t set out to live in 1959. Although a I have always been a history buff, my fascination runs more towards Medieval England…However, since 500-year-old castles are pretty non-existent in Central Ohio, I had to have a back up plan!

When I first started looking at homes I had a few requirements, however, I knew from watching endless episodes of “House Hunters” and “Property Virgins” that I HAD to be flexible.

So my partner and I started our journey in the Summer of 2010. On our own for a while, we would scour the internet for HOURS looking at the curb appeal of houses in our area via realtor.com.

We knew we wanted an older home. A “Used” home if you will. I did not want a new build. I can’t tell you why exactly, it’s just not my thing. I wanted a house with a history.

I do think this stems from growing up in apartments. My family moved out of our one and only home when I was 2 years old, and we became life long renters after that. It made a life long impact on me. So much so that owning my own home became my #1 goal through my adult life. It meant that world to me!!!

I wanted a yard because I am, and always will be, an animal owner.

I wanted 2, preferably 3 bedrooms. And room for storage via either a garage, a basement, or an attic. (My partner and I tend to, ummm, “collect” things…LOL)

That was about it. If I got one of these I thought I would be doing well.

Looking at houses quickly went from fun to work. We looked at soooo many houses….And worked with three different realtors before we found “The one”. And if you read nothing more of my post, please read this. If you are NOT happy with your realtor, break up with them as politely as possible and find yourself a new one. We stumbled upon ours, but the minute we met her, we knew she was it.

Shout out to Miss Joanne Jarvis of the Remax Champions Group in Pickerington, Ohio.

We met Joanne at one of the houses she had listed. We were working with another realtor at the time, but she just didn’t “Feel” right. To make a very long and frustrating story short, we offered (And lost out on) two other houses before finding our house.

We had been looking about 8 months and I was tired, disappointed, and frustrated. So on a Monday morning in February of 2011, I emailed my agent and told her I was taking a break. She agreed a short break would be okay and said she would ONLY send me homes she thought I MUST see…I felt great relief making that decision.

Then on Tuesday morning as I was heading to work I was thinking of my decision. And into my head popped the word “Pickerington”. Now, I had half heartedly looked in this suburb of Columbus, but it really wasnt on my wish list of places to live. Two reasons. High taxes, and over development.

I had focused my search just East of that area. So that night I went on Realtor.com. And I did two things. I added a new search city (Pickerington) and I “Upped” my price range. You see, I was DETERMINED not to go “Over” my budget. Not fully understanding that asking price and offer price can be two different things. I upped my search price by 20k. Far outside my comfort zone. And just as I had vowed to take a break from my home search, my house popped up! New listing. Only 8 days on the market. I knew from the moment I laid eyes on her that I loved her.

I emailed my agent the next day and we had an appointment that night. THe house, in only 8 days, already had a contingent offer on the table. Unheard of in this crazy market! But the owner wasnt thrilled with the contingency.

I can’t even tell you how many times that day I pulled up the link to my house. And yes, it was mine already. I cared not that the asking price was 20k more than I felt comfortable with. I had already made up my mind I would work three jobs if I had too.

That night we met our agent and went through the house…The minute I walked in I knew it was mine. I offered right then and there. Joanne said “Dont you want to see the entire house first?” I said “Not necessary. This is my house and I MUST have it”. (Needless to say, we DID tour the entire house. It was like stepping back in time. The house was built in 1959 and was a two owner house. And not much had been done since the 1960’s. The same thing that would have turned many buyers away was the thing that drew me in. History.

I was about to purchase a “Time Capsule Home” a term I didn’t even know existed at that time…(Another shout out to http://www.retrorenovation and Pam for educating me on that term!)

We left that night with thoughts of our new house in our head and an offer 8k below asking price. Oh, and we had almost 4000 sq feet of space. Three bedrooms. A walk out basement. Two garages, one attached, one detached, and 1.2 acres of land with a stream. In a very well established neighborhood.

It contained everything on our “List” and then some…(A gorgeous fireplace I didn’t know I wanted till I saw it!)

And now began the waiting game…You know, the one where you fully understand that a complete stranger holds your dreams in their hands??? Yeah, that one…We gave them 24 hours to repond…And we sat back and did our best to remain calm….

**Images are from the original real estate listing

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

