Changing Decades….

Is it possible to be completely in love with a place? If so, sign me up…

I am sure I am driving my friends and family nuts, but I am completely and utterly in love with my house.

Maybe it’s because its my first one. Maybe it’s because it fits me perfectly. Maybe it’s because it seems to be stuck in a time warp, and sometimes, I myself feel out-of-place in this decade….I don’t know.

I only know I feel completely safe and happy here.

There is still much I want to do! (And blog about, of course!) We have been spending time on the outside of the house these last few weekends and I will blog about that later…But with 1.2 acres the landscaping projects are endless…Not to mention the budget…It will take me 3-5 years I think to get the outside up to snuff. I need retaining walls. Lots and lots of retaining walls!

I have always had a love for yard sales, auctions, thrift stores and antique malls….I like old stuff I suppose!!! But now that I have an actual house and an era to shop for, I find my taste changing when I go through these things.

I have collected vintage bar ware for years. Long before I knew I would one day have a house to display them. But now when I go through antique malls I am looking for specific things to fill my 1959 Ranch.

My most recent purchase? A 1950’s ALUMINUM Christmas tree of course!!! (Note to reader, if you find one of these in good condition, for less than 100 bucks, BUY IT, for these things go for RIDICULOUS prices on Ebay!) I found mine for about 39 bucks. I can not WAIT to put it up and decorate it.

I also found some old 1950’s Christmas Cards on Ebay, and I plan on making my own Christmas decorations for the tree. And over the next few months prior to the holiday season, I will see what other wonders I can find for it…

Here are a few other things I find I am now picking up:

Vintage Aprons…

I don’t know why, exactly, I dont wear them. But I LOVE them and the era they evoke….I have seen these as high as 20 dollars but I never pay that much. All three of these I found less than 5 dollars a piece…And I simply love them. I will find some sort of hooks to display them on eventually…

Also found these on a recent excursion….We have been needing new canisters for quite a while, but the period ones have just been too pricey (75 bucks!) No way can I justify 75 bucks for canisters. We found these, with the ORIGINAL box. They had never been used. And they were 30 bucks with 10% off. LOVE IT!!!

And this was one of our first purchases…We have a whole house radio/intercom system. It doesn’t quite work, but one day, we hope to have it restored. We love it. It sets the mood for the entire house. So before we even moved in, or even got close to closing, we bought this 1959 Calendar. To represent the house. It’s completely intact and it looks GREAT hanging above the radio. Like it has always been there!

So this is just my small start…I am sure by the time it’s all said and done I will have amassed quite a collection of Vintage 1950’s and 60’s items…I just need a much deeper pocket-book to do so!

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

