It’s so ugly…It’s beautiful!

When I first laid eyes on this monstrosity I wasnt sure if I should gasp in horror, or look on it in wonder.

The craftsmanship was undeniable. It was beautiful. But, it felt out of place. I had never seen a chandelier of its kind, EVER, let alone in a home of this period.

And it was off white…With gold trim…It went with absolutely NOTHING. My furnishings and personal taste have always run to the more modern, simple kind. If I had a bottomless pocketbook, I would have mission style/craftsman style furnishings all the way.

So what to do with this thing?

It didn’t take me long to figure it out…I am blessed to have a 7 year old girl in my life courtesy of my partner Brian. I just KNEW she had to have this chandelier…

So planning started for her bedroom. I wanted a girl room, but I didn’t want a “Cutesy” room. I didn’t want cartoons or characters. I wanted a somewhat mature room that would grow with her. And I wanted it to be simple and elegant.

Eva’s room before (Previous owners furnishings):

We started by ripping out the pink shag carpet. It had faded pretty bad over the years as evidenced in the closet where the carpet was still a bright hot pink.

We then painted one accent wall a hot pink. I know. I know. Some of you might be saying “You pulled up pink, only to add more pink?” Yes. Yes we did. (I mentioned I live in a pink universe, right?)

We then added the furnishings we had collected over the previous few months, and it all came together nicely….But the crowning glory…The piece that MADE the room?

The chandelier of course! It looks as if it has ALWAYS been there. It was just waiting to move from the dining room to the bedroom of one very special little girl:

I love the final product. It’s not exactly period. But it is very girlie. Someday when the kids are older I would love to get some more modern looking furniture in the rooms. But for now, this room turned out much better than I ever expected…

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

