The Dining Room

One of the very first rooms we tackled was the dining room.

This home, which we are told was built by the architect of the entire neighborhood, boasted several built ins. And one of them are here in the dining room.

There was yellow textured carpet on the floor. The pre cursor to berber perhaps? And we think it might have been a light green at some point and just faded through the years. Having two dogs and a cat and discovering we had gorgeous untouched oak hard wood under neath, removing the carpet was a must for us. More on that later.

For some reason, in this dining room there was a very funky chandelier. Its so ugly that it actually really grew on me. Its gorgeous in its ugliness and I had never seen anything like it. I dont know if it was original to the house or added later, as it certainly doesnt look like any “Modern” lighting I have ever seen.

Although it did not fit into my vision for this room, in no way was I going to get rid of this…Check back later to find out where I put it…

And finally, the dining room had original ORANGE and GOLD pinch pleat drapes. I actually like them alot, but they felt so heavy. I removed them for something lighter, however, I am contemplating putting them back becuase they are in REMARKABLE shape for being over 50 years old!!!!

My BF suggested maybe I use them in winter and have Spring and Fall drapes?!

So we pulled up the carpet…We painted the walls a nice basic kahki color “Castle Path” by Behr to be exact. And we replaced the light fixture.

We were shopping for fixtures at The Home Depot when I saw the light of my dreams. They had ONE left and it was at a close out REMARKABLE price of $70 bucks. It instantly reminded me of a Mission Style/Frank Lloyd Wright-ish (Yeah, thats a word!) kind of light.

I have ALWAYS been a huge fan of FLW….

So we got the last one, but I noticed when we put it on the cart that it sounded broken. Sure enough, the glass was toast. No problem the BF says! He flagged down the lighting guy and made him take the glass globe out of the store display for us! (The perks of living with a Home Depot employee!)

Once installed, its almost as if this light should have been here the entire time.

Now that it’s done, this is definitely one of my favorite rooms of my house. Its clean. Very simple. Very me. The built in is PERFECT to display my collection of antique bar ware. Something I have been doing for about 15 years prior to ever thinking I might one day own a home from the same period I was collecting from.

Here are the complete before and afters. Enjoy!

About drbininger

Early 40- something gal (VERY EARLY!!), living in Ohio, exploring the world of Craft Beer, Delicious Food, Travels, Animals and fighting the Weight Loss battle of her life...And now...Renovating a 1959 Atomic Pink Stucco Ranch....
This entry was posted in Atomic Ranch, Mid Century Modern, Retro Renovation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

